Everything is…wet

I’m refraining from using the word moist more than once in this post because it seems to be a word a lot of people have an unreasonable amount of hatred for.

It’s extremely humid here in the peninsula.

All. the. time.

Now I’m a dessert girl. I lived in southeastern Utah for the first 18 years of my life where I experienced blissful dry heat and 90 degree summers every year. Then I moved north and experienced a teensy bit more humidity and a teensy bit more heat and awful snowy, icy, cold winters.

So I understand humidity is not something I’m used to. But I’m sweating all the time. The humidity averages at about 85% and the temperature is usually around 85 degrees. And for the first time in my life, I’m complaining all the time about how hot it is this summer.

I blame you, humidity. And your stupid moistness. Your ability to hold heat in and to make me sweat all day every day. It doesn’t matter if I wear jeans and a t-shirt or shorts and a tank top, I am sweating all day and all night.

Stupid humidity.

Plus it’s monsoon season. It’s rained almost everyday since I arrived. Not brief, sudden rainstorms like I’m used to either. Slow sprinkles that last all day. They’re nice and refreshing, but I miss the sun and blue skies.

Will someone please bring me dry heat?

In the meantime, I’ll wait anxiously for fall.

About kristamaesmith

I'm a writer based in Salt Lake City, Utah where I cheer for the Jazz, walk my dog, and spend too much money in local restaurants. I work in marketing for higher education and blog about food, travel, film, and whatever shiny moment catches my fancy.
This entry was posted in Everything is..., South Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Everything is…wet

  1. Amanda says:

    Sounds like it might be a while until you get some dry heat. I’ve moved to the city built on a swamp (D.C.) but at least I’m used to all the humidity after being in Alabama.

    • saltcitygirl says:

      Another teacher here is from Georgia and he keeps trying to tell me it’s less humid and hot here so I should be grateful. But I miss blue skies and sunshine! Good luck in D.C.!

  2. More Maximus Than Pompey says:

    I’d love to but unfortunately there hasn’t been much here to spare. I forgot to tell you but yesterday 33rd actually flooded! It was of course gone by the time I got home, but still. WTF? I’ll try and see what I can do for you though. Maybe I can borrow some from my aunt in Vegas.

  3. Sam says:

    I feel your pain. I’m in Louisiana and anxiously awaiting the end of August (my least favorite month). Autumn cannot come fast enough…

  4. Erin says:

    I’ll send you a jar full

Leave a Reply

