Chungju-si nights

Since coming to South Kroea my interest in photography has taken off. Although I’m only using  a Nikon point and shoot I’m anxious to share my photos of the places and people of my experiences with my blog readers. So these are just a few of my favorite photos of Chungju-si. I took these while wandering the city in the evening and night.

One of my favorite local land marks has to be the Chungju Space Needle. No, I don’t know what it is and I don’t know why it’s there. It just is. Enjoy it for all it’s strangeness and similarities to what you already know.

As I walked the streets, I was amazed by the gorgeous reds and blues the sunset turned the cloud filled sky. (I’m resigned to not seeing clear blue skies until Thailand.) I kept stopping every three seconds to take photos of the clouds and the buildings as they lit up the night. I’m sure anyone walking behind me was ready to take my camera and run just so I would walk like a normal person.
I love all these little restaurants, bars and businesses dotting Korea. You can’t quite tell in the photo, but this building is just one story and has arched doorways and windows. It’s a slightly more uncommon building. And I wonder if it’s supposed to be more traditional? In a way, a log cabin is more traditional in the West perhaps? Anyone know about these kind of buildings?
Finally at the end of my walk, I stopped at a park hiding among some trees where I found a nifty playground. I climbed to the top of the jungle gym and amused myself taking abstract-y photos of the dimming light and the park equipment.

A pretty quiet evening, but a nice change of pace from the bars, noraebang and travels of many nights.

Any requests for photos or topics? Just ask in the comments below.

About kristamaesmith

I'm a writer based in Salt Lake City, Utah where I cheer for the Jazz, walk my dog, and spend too much money in local restaurants. I work in marketing for higher education and blog about food, travel, film, and whatever shiny moment catches my fancy.
This entry was posted in Life, South Korea, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

