A tiny temple

Happiness is good food and good people.

Naomi, Vandertramp and I decided to head out to a Buddhist temple near Hoamji Reservoir. I was nervous about my ability to bike all the way there, but I did it. I even made it up a big hill. All this bike riding better be good for something.

Once we arrived, we hiked up the steep stone path. At the top, there was a fantastic view of a river and the road leading back to Chungju. A few Buddha statues, a small tower, a house, a shrine and a tiny temple were clustered behind a garden. We set about taking photos.

Then Naomi asked if we were hungry. It seems Vanderkamp and I agree that food is always good. They were kind enough to share rice (bap), seaweed (kim) and nuts with me. Since I’d only been prepared enough to bring water (mul).

As we sat eating this simple good meal, I started thinking about all the people who had done this before us. The Buddhist temple is set far back from the road. The requisite hike to get there adding to the sense of a journey. But I’m not here for spiritual enlightenment. I’m here to enjoy this day to see one tiny corner of Korea before heading back to my apartment and preparing lesson plans for the week.

And suddenly in this moment of eating and sharing, I realize this is what makes me happy–good food and good people

For the next bike ride, I’ll bring the beer.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About kristamaesmith

I'm a writer based in Salt Lake City, Utah where I cheer for the Jazz, walk my dog, and spend too much money in local restaurants. I work in marketing for higher education and blog about food, travel, film, and whatever shiny moment catches my fancy.
This entry was posted in Life, South Korea, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A tiny temple

  1. Naomi says:

    Mmmm….Beer! Can’t wait!

  2. Uncle Al says:

    I enjoyed the photos, they supplement the writing.

  3. Pingback: Golden Buddha, Fat Buddha | Salt City Girl

Leave a Reply

