Ganyang–Iron in my water?

Korea has an obsession.

Well, many obsessions, but I’d like to talk briefly about their obsession with health. Most foods and beverages are sold advertising how they will make you a healthier, happier person. Usually this means if the product is meant for women, it will give you an S-Line. If the product is meant for men, it will improve your stamina. For some reason, I am completely intrigued by this idea and try lots of things going, “Oh yeah, this is going to *insert random health benefit. Awesome!” Then I realize the drink or food isn’t that good so I won’t ever buy it again.

However the one health drink that made me feel most at home was natural spring iron water.

Once we had arrived in Ganyang from Sokcho, we made for the natural spring. Apparently the spring is famous and the water has all kinds of health benefits. It was dark so we couldn’t see, but Ray explained the rocks are red because of the minerals.

And I think, “Iron. Wait. What?” Growing up I hated drinking the water at my parents’ house because it comes out of rusty red dirt and tastes like iron.

Unfortunately this information was completely lost on my co-workers. Plus Jamie and Ray have gotten used to me being the first person to try weird things, so they immediately offer me the first cup of “healthy” water. I take one sip and I know.

This is iron. This is water with a lot of iron. This tastes like rust.

I swallow and say, “Once is enough.” And step back to let the people in line waiting to fill their water bottles get to work.

Why is it I keep feeling like I came half way around the world just to go back home?

In case you were wondering, I went back in the morning to take the photos. In the light of day, the sign also pointed out that this water is so great at cleaning out intestines it kills caterpillars. Oh…yum!

About kristamaesmith

I'm a writer based in Salt Lake City, Utah where I cheer for the Jazz, walk my dog, and spend too much money in local restaurants. I work in marketing for higher education and blog about food, travel, film, and whatever shiny moment catches my fancy.
This entry was posted in Life, South Korea, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ganyang–Iron in my water?

  1. Rikki King says:

    I read that link, and I still can’t figure out if an S-line is for waists or legs.

    but the caterpillar-killing line cracked me up.

Leave a Reply

