Something like a bucket list

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”
“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,” said the Cat.
“I don’t much care where–” said Alice.
“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,” said the Cat.
“–so long as I get SOMEWHERE,” Alice added as an explanation.
“Oh, you’re sure to do that,” said the Cat, “if you only walk long enough.”
(Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Chapter 6)

I’ve always considered myself a goal-driven person. Since hearing about the man who kept a list of goals on his bedroom wall to stay motivated enough to climb Mount Everest, I’ve kept my own goal list.

It started with a list on the back of my door when I was around 12 or 13. The short list eventually evolved into a mess of lined papers and writing. By the time, I was 18 I had accomplished all of my “high school” goals. So I took the papers down, stored them in a notebook and made my way to Westminster College. Where I had set myself one goal, get a Bachelor’s.

I did that and along the way I accomplished a few other goals. Make a movie, edit a newspaper, work in public relations, learn yoga and learn to cook. This time my list became a collage of magazine cut outs and written goals. Some of my goals have been on my list since I was 12, like road trip across America and travel.

My college goal list has been consigned to a drawer in my sister’s basement since leaving last July. But now I think it’s time to put my list somewhere I’ll see it everyday. I rewrote some of my goals in the back of my journal a few weeks ago. But not seeing them everyday has taken the motivation away for me. I might just call it the “life” list.

Since learning about Zora, I feel compelled to write my list again. I may just follow A Chick with Baggage‘s lead and post my goals here. Since I’m feeling motivated enough to be goal-driven again, who knows I might just get somewhere while I’m here.

About kristamaesmith

I'm a writer based in Salt Lake City, Utah where I cheer for the Jazz, walk my dog, and spend too much money in local restaurants. I work in marketing for higher education and blog about food, travel, film, and whatever shiny moment catches my fancy.
This entry was posted in Life, Uhh. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Something like a bucket list

  1. No ifs ands or buts- you’ve announced this to the world and now you are accountable to it. We’ll be expecting your list, or at least a good start to it, very soon.

  2. Rikki King says:

    i approve! i’ve always wanted to do one of these but it seems depressing for me

Leave a Reply

