Sidecars in South Korea

I like my cocktails the way I like my clothes, classic.

If vodka is the little black dress of booze, then the side car is a pearl necklace. The side car is right up there with Long Island Iced Teas as one of my all time favorite cocktails. (Hint: To anyone ever wishing to impress me with a drink.)

The simplicity of the sidecar makes it a surprisingly easy drink to make in the ROK. To my surprise I found cognac at the local Lotte Mart for 45,000 won. The VSOP bottle of Hennesy has been warming my cupboard for a few months now. And close to running out. I think a second bottle might just be my birthday present to myself.

To enjoy your own lovely sidecar, mix two parts lemon with one part cognac. I find that although fresh lemon and cointreau are called for in the original recipe, it works just as well to use lemonade. I’ve only been able to find Sunkist lemonade in this part of the world, but it works out great.

You can find me most Wednesday nights snuggled up with my sidecar and a movie. Now I’ve got some mixin’ and movie watchin’ to do.

About kristamaesmith

I'm a writer based in Salt Lake City, Utah where I cheer for the Jazz, walk my dog, and spend too much money in local restaurants. I work in marketing for higher education and blog about food, travel, film, and whatever shiny moment catches my fancy.
This entry was posted in cocktails, Life, recipe, South Korea and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

