A thankful Thursday Thanksgiving

I’m offering up a list of my thankfulness this Thursday to celebrate today.

1. Family.

Not seeing my family at all this holiday season, is reminding me how much I love them and their craziness. I miss all seven siblings and assorted spouses, nieces and nephews enough to want to cry. I wouldn’t be where I am without the sibs sometimes pushing and pulling me through life. (Both literally and figuratively.) Mom and Dad, I’m sorry I don’t get to be there this year. Thank you for making me the person I am today.

2. Friends.

Especially one, Ava Winchester, you lady are a wonderful person. I’m so glad I punched you in that arm one night a long freakin’ time ago. I’m so grateful to have a friend like you who is 110% in my corner no matter what ridiculous mess I’ve gotten myself into. I miss you and I can’t wait to be up to our usual silliness soon.

Of the internet variety, I have to thank Rikki for always reading and Kelsey for sharing.

And of those in Korea with me this holiday season, I have to thank Jamie, James, Ray, Mina, Allison and Linda for befriending me so quickly. Without them I would’ve died of a cold by now. Oh yeah and they taught me how to shoot soju and eat bulgogi so really I just can’t thank them enough.

3. The Internet.

That’s right, I’m thanking technology, but it’s cool. So technology thanks for always making it easier for me to connect with the people I’m far away from. And for providing me with the space to write this blog and meet and interact (at least virtually) with lovely people from all over the world.

4. Korea.

I’m so happy I’ve had the opportunity to come to Korea. It has not at one moment been anything at all like I expected. I’ve learned more about myself in four months here than in four years of university. I love the craziness that is Korea. And I can’t wait for every weekend to see what adventures are in store. From the jeong of the locals to the spice of the food, Korea so far has been an exquisite journey in seeing the beauty of a country slowly open up to me.

How can I not love a country that brought me this?

T.O.P., I love you. Thank you, sir, for proving KMen are sexy.

5. Students.

As much as the kids make me crazy somedays, other days they are just so gosh darn cute, I can’t help but be glad I get to teach them. When students discovered it was my birthday a week ago, they immediately ran to the store and bought me orange juice and highlighters in between classes. Seriously, adorable. Not to mention, the note.

Krista Teacher, Happy birthday! I’m sorry gift late. I didn’t know birthday. I don’t know what you like. From, Students

Teens do not come more adorable, people. And then there’s the girl, who’s so excited to see me everyday and speak in English she’s almost shaking with excitement. It’s awesome! Everyday she’s happy to see me, I’m glad I’m her teacher. To have that one student and that kind of connection with a kid is pretty cool. So yeah, even though I don’t think I’ll ever teach again, some days I’m pretty grateful to be teaching.

What are you grateful for this Thanksgiving?

About kristamaesmith

I'm a writer based in Salt Lake City, Utah where I cheer for the Jazz, walk my dog, and spend too much money in local restaurants. I work in marketing for higher education and blog about food, travel, film, and whatever shiny moment catches my fancy.
This entry was posted in Life, Uhh and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A thankful Thursday Thanksgiving

  1. Amanda says:

    Aw, I’m so glad you’re doing well. You’ve got a good list. 🙂

    I’m so thankful for my family this year. It’s mine and Nick’s first Thanksgiving to get married, and it has been so much fun to host the dinner and have my parents and brother with us all week (even if Nick is in the middle of studying for finals).

  2. Rikki King says:

    And thanks to you as well!

Leave a Reply

