A Seoul night out

Papa Gorilla was a riot. We walked into a dance club out of a movie, my friends. The lights were up, the smoke machine blowing and the dancers on the table. It was so Coyote Ugly, I started jumping up and down.

We made for the bar and grabbed another round before climbing up on the table. Seriously, love that I did that. I don’t care if I sound like a 14 year-old who doesn’t know better. I danced on a table full of drunk people around a stripper pole and it was AWESOME!

Lil would be so proud.

At some point we got off the table and were shaking it on the dance floor, which was really just a small space between the table and the bar. A T.O.P. look-alike approached me to tell me I was “fierce” and should have a good time before moving onto the VIP section. It was definitely an odd interaction seeing as I couldn’t stop staring at him.

Look at this man and tell me he's not gorgeous. via AsianPopcorn

I love KMen!

But who proves my last rant about men wrong?

A good ol’ Southern boy from Georgia.

Some guy asked me where the second stamp on my hand was from as I was ordering a drink at the bar. I blew him off with a flippant, “Don’t bother.” And took my vodka cranberry from the bartender before heading back to the table for another round of dancing and drinking.

Same guy comes up to me again and asks, “Do you mind if I dance with you ladies?”

I nod and say sure. He’s pretty cute and the music’s moving through me. Also he asked before just grinding on us which is refreshing. (By the way, I’ve never experienced a man just grinding on me in a club here like I did in America.)

Around 3 a.m. or so I headed out to Ting Tings with Georgia. The bar had great music and we had a lovely time just talking. Mostly about home and family and the things we missed. Then we grabbed some kebabs in the freezing cold. They were so spicy! Ah! After all this kimchi you’d think I could take on a kebab, but I can’t. The delicious meat wrapped in a flour tortilla with coleslaw was just too spicy for me about halfway through.

So we headed for chicken at 3:30 a.m. (I love this night owl country!) I managed to order and confirm we were okay with the wait in mangled Konglish with the waiter. Being with Georgia is about the first time I’ve been in a restaurant with anyone who speaks less Korean than me. Although his accent is totally better.

The chicken also ended up being spicy. But I did much better and I even managed to eat most of it with the tongs we were given in place of chopsticks.

The next bar was a groovy rock and roll joint clearly catering to foreigners and a bit white for what I’m used to. It was nice to relax for a few minutes though in a non-dancing bar before heading home for the night.

About kristamaesmith

I'm a writer based in Salt Lake City, Utah where I cheer for the Jazz, walk my dog, and spend too much money in local restaurants. I work in marketing for higher education and blog about food, travel, film, and whatever shiny moment catches my fancy.
This entry was posted in cocktails, dinner, Life, reviews, South Korea, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Seoul night out

  1. Ali Monjar says:

    I just have to tell you I love your blog. I also love that you danced on the table.

    • saltcitygirl says:

      Oh, thanks, Ali! I’m so glad you enjoy what I my blog. You should really try dancing on some tables. By the way, I watched your sister dance vid and it was amazing! I didn’t know you were so talented.

Leave a Reply

