A much less fun Cocoon

After some serious shopping, Linda and I headed out to Hongdae for a night of cheap drinks, pop music and dancing.

Our first stop was Papa Gorilla. The bar was clearly set up for a party with poles running through the table in the center of the floor. And drinks were a lovely 3,000 won for a vodka cranberry! The cocktail was potent and so nice after so many nights of mikju and soju.

We sipped our way through the first drink in the VIP area and nearly froze to death since Papa refused to turn on the heater. The bartender was wearing his coat so he didn’t mind the cold, but I was freezing!

Next we headed to Cocoon, hoping to warm up a bit. (If the name sounds familiar, you’re probably thinking of Daejeon.) The dance club was quiet. The staff easily outnumbered the patrons at 10 p.m. We sidled up to the bar for iced tea and a lemon drop.

The iced tea turned out to be a combination of Coke and cranberry juice, which isn’t as bad you would think it would be. But definitely does not taste like iced tea. The word from Linda is that the lemon drop was acceptable, although served in a shot glass so small.

As I was relaxing at the bar taking in some KPop and giggling at the sexy dance in front of me, a large guy approached me. He looked Korean, but was dressed way too much like a Westerner. Turns out, he’s in the military and was enjoying a night out on the town. We chatted for a few minutes.

Military started off right by bringing me news of the Jazz beating the Lakers. (Go Utah!) But then he introduced me to his friend. And I want to say this as politely and nicely as possible, but I think that requires a thing called tact which I’m completely missing.

Have you ever met someone who for whatever reason made you want to get as far away from them as possible?

That was Military’s friend.

I’ve learned to trust my instincts. It’s how I get around most days since I don’t speak and barley read the language and culture around me. So if some guy makes me go, “WTF? Something is wrong here,” I will walk away.

I might be wrong, but it’s not worth the risk.

Next Linda and I headed to the dance floor. Linda stayed busy keeping some guy at bay. He seemed nice, just completely out of his element and incredibly awkward. Not to mention completely failing to notice all the “I’m married and not interested” signals he was getting from her.

Finally we left and headed back to Papa, after Military caught up with me outside the bathroom to make a crude joke how I must be a lesbian because I wouldn’t dance with him. Dude! WTF?! Lesbians are hotter than you. And hell of a lot less creepy.

About kristamaesmith

I'm a writer based in Salt Lake City, Utah where I cheer for the Jazz, walk my dog, and spend too much money in local restaurants. I work in marketing for higher education and blog about food, travel, film, and whatever shiny moment catches my fancy.
This entry was posted in cocktails, Life, reviews, South Korea, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A much less fun Cocoon

  1. Pingback: A Seoul night out | Salt City Girl

Leave a Reply

