Two elephants beer

Chang beer. The beer of Thailand.

Okay. It’s not the beer, but it’s one of two local brews that I very much enjoyed during my weekend in Bangkok.

The beer was cheap, dark and delicious. I loved drinking a non-Korean beer for two days. It was so nice to drink something heavier than Bud Light. The flavor was great and of course, it went beautifully with all the Thai food I was eating. My love of pale lagers returned from my first sip of Chang and I’m wishing for some now.

My only complaint has more to do with the culture and less to do with the beer. Beer comes in two sizes in Thailand. Small and large. The small is about the size of a regular 16 oz. bottle. Any time I would order a beer, I received stares or was told I couldn’t drink beer.

It seems single white women are not allowed to drink beer in Bangkok.

After this happened once, I had no problem upsetting local customs by continuing to ask for various beers until the server finally gave up and brought me Heineken, Hoegaarden, Bud or Singha with a glass and ice.

Yes, Bangkok, I will drink beer-even if it is 5% to 6.5% ABV and I’m a lady. Trust me, we’ll get along fine.

About kristamaesmith

I'm a writer based in Salt Lake City, Utah where I cheer for the Jazz, walk my dog, and spend too much money in local restaurants. I work in marketing for higher education and blog about food, travel, film, and whatever shiny moment catches my fancy.
This entry was posted in beer, Life, reviews, Thailand. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Two elephants beer

  1. Amanda says:

    See, I get weird looks around here when we go to Irish pubs and I ask what they have other than beer (wine, maybe). But I’m glad you found a beer you really liked, and that you finally got them to serve it to you.

  2. Rikki King says:

    i love singha!

Leave a Reply

