More than just KPop

If you are interested in KPop, read this article from The Chosun Ilbo about how terrible KPop is. The author mentions the surprising popularity of Girls Generation and Wonder Girls who are known more for their good looks and hilarious performances on reality TV than their ability to sing.

You may know Wonder Girls from their song “Nobody,” which according to Wikipedia actually made it on to US Billboard charts. (The first KPop song to do so.)

The video has more than 47 million views on YouTube. And with those dance moves and costumes it’s easy to see why. (Those shoes are so awesome!) Although this is one of the most conservative KPop videos I’ve seen.

Here’s a more recent and much more bizarre Wonder Girls video for “Two Different Tears” and it’s in English. Not that it improves the lyrics any.

Curiosity led me to look up Broccoli You Too. The author points to this small indie band as one of the best and most well-received by critics. With a bit of looking, I found these videos.

And after watching it, I’m not quite sure if I like Broccoli You Too anymore than the manufactured comparison band of Wonder Girls.

I predict an evening of ice cream and YouTube.

Which do you like better? Or am I comparing two things which can not be accurately compared?

About kristamaesmith

I'm a writer based in Salt Lake City, Utah where I cheer for the Jazz, walk my dog, and spend too much money in local restaurants. I work in marketing for higher education and blog about food, travel, film, and whatever shiny moment catches my fancy.
This entry was posted in Life, reviews, South Korea and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More than just KPop

  1. Kasey says:

    My hatred for Katy Perry dwindles when I watch these music videos…that being said, they are pretty visually striking.

  2. stacy cochran says:

    KPop gave me a flashback to us in that storage room in my basement on rollerskates singing spice girls. :). That being said, I like brocolli you too. I might buy some songs on itunes, even though I don’t understand anything he’s saying

Leave a Reply

