Eggs, eggs everywhere

“How can you not love a country that serves eggs with every meal?” I asked as John, Hannah and I dug into our own dish off steamed eggs to accompany our beer.

I’d never given much thought to eggs. Generally I liked them. I have a preference for fried over scrambled and fresh over store-bought. But otherwise eggs didn’t play a big part in the cuisine of my day. Until I came to Korea and now eggs are everywhere.

Egg salad in a sandwich. Scrambled eggs in a wrap. Fried eggs in bibimbap. Scrambled eggs in kimbap. Steamed eggs on the side. Eggs are served with nearly every meal.

I love the steamed eggs so much I’ve committed to buying a stone bowl just so I can learn to make them. I suppose they’re something like a quiche only lighter, fluffier and better.

Everyday I look no farther than the fresh brown chicken eggs of Chungju for my daily protein fix. I love those yellow-centered white orbs more than I my heart would like. I love ’em, gosh darn it, especially when the egg smiles at me from a bowl of sticky white rice.

About kristamaesmith

I'm a writer based in Salt Lake City, Utah where I cheer for the Jazz, walk my dog, and spend too much money in local restaurants. I work in marketing for higher education and blog about food, travel, film, and whatever shiny moment catches my fancy.
This entry was posted in cheap food, Life, reviews, South Korea, Uhh and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

