My Top Five Travel Takes

As I’m getting ready for my much needed vacation next week. I’ve been thinking through all my necessary items. I like to travel light, but not so light I’m running to the nearest convenience store in every new town.

Here my five travel essentials for comfortable solo travel.

1. Essential papers including cash. This is probably the most obvious and easiest to forget pile of papers. I like to keep a neat little folder for my flight and hotel reservations, passport, credit cards, emergency cash and visa. I keep my “day budget” cash conveniently in my wallet, pocket or purse.

2. KPop.

I suppose if I had an iPod it would be my best friend on my travels, but thankfully I have the luxury of traveling in a country that recognizes the value of 2NE1 and a laptop. On a slightly related note, I don’t think I can go more than 24 hours without listening to “Clap Your Hands.”

And neither should you.

3. Camera.

I’ve fallen into the photography love trap. I never though I would take photos for fun after a year of photography classes. However traveling has taught me to love the quiet creative moments capturing a photo makes possible.

4. Books.

Not just a travel guide, but books for leisure reading too. I’m a bibliophile and I have been since I was youngin’. There’s no better way to pass time on a plane, train or bus than with a good book most of the time. My current travel reads are Korea’s Place in the Sun and A Short History of Nearly Everything. Boy howdy, I love me some science and history.

5. Pen and paper.

This barely, just barely, edged out my laptop as my number five must-have. (I also snuck it in there with the KPop.) The fact is there’s been more than once, when I’ve been grateful for a small notebook to jot notes in, write important information down (like hotel addresses) and otherwise have handy for assistance when I don’t speak much of the local language.

What items always find their way into your travel bag? Anything I should start packing?

About kristamaesmith

I'm a writer based in Salt Lake City, Utah where I cheer for the Jazz, walk my dog, and spend too much money in local restaurants. I work in marketing for higher education and blog about food, travel, film, and whatever shiny moment catches my fancy.
This entry was posted in Life, South Korea, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

