All the single ladies

I had a great debate last night about being single in South Korea. It went something like this.

Me: “South Korea is a great place for a single lady.”

New York: “What?! You are the only person I’ve ever heard say that. Hey you, you ladies, what are your thoughts on being single in South Korea?”

New York’s girlfriend: “I’m not single anymore.”

Friend of girlfriend: “Me either.”

I think they proved my point, despite quickly complaining about the difficulties of dating in the ROK. I almost didn’t believe we’ve been living in the same country to hear them talk about their trobules.

Just like anywhere else in the world, I suppose, Korea presents it’s own set of dating challenges. Language and cultural differences aside, it’s pretty similar to dating in the US for me–except for an unnerving tendency to not understand birth control and how it works. (Thanks, Utah, for preparing me for that one.)

Personally my biggest problem with dating is feeling like I MUST date. I feel a surprising amount of local cultural pressure to “be with someone.” (As sweet as it is for the ajeossi and ajumma at my favorite convenience store to worry about my well-being as a single white woman, I really don’t want to hear how I need a man in any language.) I’m pretty lucky I live outside the couple culture, but I get enough residual pressure to feel empathy for the single university women worried about their chances of getting married.

However just like dating anywhere, the game gets significantly easier once you know what you want. It also helps to know where to look for the kind of person you are looking for.

Besides I think this GDragon and Top video prove I only have great things to look forward to while dating across the peninsula. At any rate, dating is vastly more entertaining than drinking alone.

 

About kristamaesmith

I'm a writer based in Salt Lake City, Utah where I cheer for the Jazz, walk my dog, and spend too much money in local restaurants. I work in marketing for higher education and blog about food, travel, film, and whatever shiny moment catches my fancy.
This entry was posted in Life, South Korea, Travel, Uhh and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All the single ladies

  1. Jeannie says:

    I think that dating is hard everywhere! (especially in LA, where I live) I wrote a book that you may enjoy about all the virtues of being single called “365 Reasons Why I’m Still Single.” There’s a reason for every day of the year as to why being single is awesome! Check it out on Amazon or be a fan on Facebook (or both)! http://amzn.to/efDMiC

Leave a Reply

